Maharana Mewar Foundation announces special Awards


33 Annual Awards, 4090 Awardees, 1 Vision Honouring service of permanent value rendered to society

Maharana of Mewar Charitable Foundation (MMCF) has been committed to nurturing centres of excellence in heritage management, fine arts, the performing arts, education, ecological management, hospitality, philanthropy, spirituality and sports.

Unique in having conceived and implemented the practice of ‘living heritage’ MMCF is nurturing its legacy through broad-based and sustainable platforms of development within Rajasthan, in India and through global outreach programmes. MMCF continues to pursue its mission of nurturing cultural values in society by adopting innovative methods of communication. Amongst the most important of these values is to recognise excellence, through appreciation and to acknowledge achievement.

Maharana Mewar Foundation Annual Scheme of Awards constitutes a major part of the activities of the Maharana of Mewar Charitable Foundation (MMCF), Udaipur. These Annual Awards were instituted in 1980 – 1981 to recognize college and school students, in Udaipur, for their academic and sporting achievements. The scope and spectrum of the awards has been steadily widening since 1981, now the Annual Awards Ceremony not only applauds students but now also honours international and national scholars for their work of permanent value to society. Many now play a pivotal role contributing to Mewar, India on the world stage.

The ceremony that takes place on Sunday the 6th March 2016 starts with the presentation of certificates to students from schools and universities in Udaipur and across the State of Rajasthan. This is followed by the main Ceremony when the awardees gather on the dais to receive their awards from Shriji Arvind Singh Mewar of Udaipur, Chairman and Managing Trustee of Maharana of Mewar Charitable Foundation, Udaipur.

Announcing the State and Special awards, Convener of the Ceremony Dr. Mayank Gupta declared that these annual awards carry a cash prize, a ‘Toran’ plaque of honour, a citation certificate and a ceremonial shawl.

Maharishi Harit Rashi Award is being awarded to Prof. Laxmi Sharma,Jaipur, for her contribution in vedic culture and ancient shastra. Prof. Sharma has had 35 years of teaching experience at the University of Rajasthan, Jaipur and has specialized in Ved-Vigyan, Sanskrit Sahitya and Vyakaran. She was one of the key team members who worked painstakingly to materialize the dream of having an independent majestic building dedicated by a charitable trust to study Sanskrit and carry out research work at the University of Rajasthan. Another Maharishi Harit Rashi awardee is BramrishiVaidya Pandit Narayan Sharma Kaushik, Nagaur for his contribution to ancient shastra and karma kand. For the last 31 years his monthly magazine titled ‘Vedang Jyoti’ have been published without missing a single edition.

Another award Maharana Mewar Award has been instituted to honour work of permanent value rendered to society, in the field of social service, nation building and character building activities, contributed through educational methods. This year’s award is given to Dr. Laxman Singh Rathore who is an Indian scientist and is Director General of India Meteorological Department (IMD) He is Permanent Representative of India with the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), United Nations and Vice-Chair of the Intergovernmental Board for Climate Services, United Nations. Dr. Rathore has made a significant contribution to the Public Weather System and played a leading role in setting up the weather based agricultural advisory service in India. During his long career, he has made a significant contribution to develop the role of meteorology in both social and economic fields that today is recognized as work of permanent value to society.

Maharana Kumbha Award is awarded to historian Dr. Devi Lal Paliwal, Rajsamand, Rajasthan. He has always been an avid reader, research scholar and written several books and articles on History. His main focus has been on the History of Mewar; the relationship of the Mewar Rulers with the then British Rulers and Maharana Pratap. His book entitled ‘Maharana Pratap Mahan’ has been widely applauded with several editions printed and is used as reference material by research scholars.

In the field of literature Maharana Kumbha Award is being awarded to Mr. Tej Singh Tarun from Bijoliya, Bhilwara, Rajasthan, who has had 18 years of experience in the field of education and has been working and contributing to the wealth of literature. His pioneering work comprises of several publications including Bijoliya ka Itihas, Rajasthan ke Surma, Bharat Mukh Se Bol Raha Hai, Balak Ho To Aisa, Mewar Gaurav, Madhumati, Rastradharma etc.

Maharana Sajjan Singh Award is conferred to Mr. Akash Choyal, Udaipur, Rajasthan, who has been known in the Indian art world for his vision and his confrontation with the real and the unreal. During his artistic journey he has persistently remained a non conformist delving deep into his own fantasy world that still captures the imagination. Akash is a painter, printmaker, sculptor, photographer, videographer, and a futurist. As a modernist Akash Choyal has successfully formed his own contemporary language of art that, as a professional artist has taken him on a search for new aesthetics.

Dagar Gharana Award is awarded to Mr. Prahlad Singh Tipaniya , Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh, who is one of the most compelling folk voices of Kabir in India today who combines singing with the meaning of Kabir in the Malwi folk style. His concerts are deep engagements with the spiritual and social thought of Kabir. They rise above petty divisiveness, sectarianism, empty ritualism and hypocrisy, with the need to adopt love as the ultimate religion.

Rana Punja Award is conferred to Retired Army man Mr. Laxmanlal Katara,who has earned recognition as ‘Mountain Man’ of Wagad (local name for Banswara-Dungarpur belt) after he carved out an approach road leading to a hillock in Bhuwali village of Palwada gram panchayat in Dungarpur District. He did this to facilitate the transportation of construction material to build toilets in his village under the Swachh Bharat Mission.

Aravali Award is being conferred for the outstanding achievements in sports and games from Rajasthan. This year Mr. Rajat Chauhan who is an Indian Archer from Jaipur, Rajasthan and Ms. Swati Dudhwal, Jaipur who is an Indian Archer also from Jaipur. Both have made the sports fraternity proud of their commitment, strength, courage, enthusiasm and strong determination in their Archery skill at Championships across the world.

कलक्टर गुप्ता ई-गवर्नेंस अवार्ड से राज्य स्तर पर सम्मानित मुख्यमंत्री ने दिया सम्मान


उदयपुर, 21 मार्च/मुख्यमंत्री श्रीमती वसुंधरा राजे के हाथों उदयपुर जिला कलक्टर रोहित गुप्ता को ई-गवर्नेंस अवार्ड 2016 से राज्य स्तर पर सम्मानित किया गया।

जिला कलक्टर गुप्ता को उदयपुर जिले में एक्शन उदयपुर मोबाइल एप्लीकेशन के सफल क्रियान्वयन के लिए यह अवार्ड मिला। सूचना प्रौद्योगिकी और संचार विभाग, जयपुर की ओर से जयपुर के  बिड़ला ऑडिटोरियम में सूचना प्रौद्योगिकी दिवस के उपलक्ष्य में आयोजित समारोह में यह सम्मान दिया गया। इस मौके पर सूचना प्रौद्योगिकी और संचार विभाग की ओर से जिले के आईटी इनिशिएटिव्ज संबंधी स्टॉल भी लगाई गई।